OpenStreetMap US

Photo: Joe Philipson

The 2013 OpenStreetMap US elections will take place from October 5th - 12th. The elections will be held virtually, hence we will have a one week period in which you will be able to cast your vote. Here is everything you need to know about the upcoming elections. Also, consider running for office - it’s a great way to help grow OpenStreetMap.

Members vote

To vote or to stand for election you have to be a member of OpenStreetMap US and your dues must be paid up. At the beginning of the election period we will send out a ballot via email to all members in good standing. If you have any questions around your membership status, please drop us a line.

Independently organized

Richard Welty, former president of the OpenStreetMap US chapter will be the independent party organizing the elections. We are still looking for independent observers, get in touch if you’d like to help out.

What’s up for election?

All five positions of the current board are up for election. Each position is up for a one year term. Note that candidates don’t run for a specific position but to be elected to the board. Once a new board is elected, the board itself decides what member takes on which position.

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • At large

Details about the elections are available on the elections Wiki - this is also where you can check and see who’s running and what they stand for.

You should run!

Consider running for office. It’s a great way to help grow OpenStreetMap in the United States and beyond by helping organize the annual conference, by speaking at events, being available for questions about OpenStreetMap and just generally spreading the word.

To run, simply add your name and a manifest on the OpenStreetMap wiki.

We’re looking forward to your participation. If you have any questions about the elections, drop us a line.

Correction: an earlier post had a wrong election period of 14th to 20th

More info

OpenStreetMap US Board

OpenStreetMap US is governed by a five-seat Board of Directors, elected by our membership.