OpenStreetMap US

The 2021 OpenStreetMap US board election results are in! There were 6 nominees running for 5 open positions. Of our 276 members, 129 voted. This was an increase in turnout from the 96 people who voted in 2020 but we still only reached 46% of membership.

The new OpenStreetMap US board is (in alphabetical order):

  • Martijn van Exel
  • Diane Fritz
  • Jubal Harpster
  • Minh Nguyễn
  • Daniela Waltersdorfer

Congratulations to the new board!

Bylaws Amendment Results

Also on the ballot were two proposals to change the bylaws to allow two-year board terms. These two proposals had well over the ⅔ majority support that was required, but they did not achieve the 50% turnout of the OSM US membership in order to pass. Only 46% of our members voted in this election, making it impossible to change the bylaws in this election. Thanks to those members who took the time to vote!

Thank You

Thank you to all of our candidates and those who participated in the election. Thanks to Ian Dees, the independent observer who observed the election and shared the results with us after confirming them.

Also, a big THANK YOU to outgoing board member Alyssa Wright, who has served on the board since 2015.

Here’s to another excellent year of OpenStreetMap US, and good luck to the new board members.

Questions? Join the #elections channel on OSM US Slack, tweet us, or email us anytime.

More info

OpenStreetMap US Board

OpenStreetMap US is governed by a five-seat Board of Directors, elected by our membership.